Using GNU autotools

Maybe this is ridiculous, but I never remember the program calls for using GNU autotools. And the Google search always gives me lots of information I never wanted to know. It’s just the order of calls, so here we go:

autoheader
aclocal
autoconf
automake ----add-missing
./configure
make

Fine. Now I have a place where I can look things up.

edit: occasionally (read: in case checking out sources from a CVS under cygwin) the file format is wrong. Put a
dos2unix *before the first line above.

2 thoughts on “Using GNU autotools

  1. Hello Mr. Fahland,

    I noticed your blog while I was reading through the pages of the graduate school METRIK (and especially the current advertisement).

    It was very interesting for me to read your posting about your progress in finding your PhD topic.

    I’m wishing you the best.

    With best regards,

    Siamak Haschemi

  2. Hi DIrk!

    autoreconf -i
    ./configure
    make

    macht das gleiche, und man muss sich noch weniger merken.

    Bis dann,
    Niels.

Leave a Reply

